Academy District 20

 Special Education

The special education staff members of Academy District 20 are committed to empowering each student with a disability to reach his/her unique potential for a life of quality, dignity, and purpose. We strive to provide services to students with disabilities in the least restrictive environment along with non-disabled students to the greatest extent feasible and in accordance with IDEA (Individuals with Disabilities Education Act).
 
 
The district offers a continuum of service options and alternative placements designed to meet the individual needs of students. District 20’s service delivery for children on IEPs (Individual Education Plan) is based on individual needs, not driven solely by disability category.
 
 
Each school is staffed with at least one special education teacher and a speech/language pathologist. Itinerant staff members (school social worker, school psychologist, school nurse, occupational and physical therapists, and others) are also available to complete assessments, participate in the IEP process, and provide specialized support services as necessary.
 
 
All special education professional staff members meet highly qualified standards as appropriately licensed teachers or special service providers through the Colorado Department of Education. Paraprofessionals are often available to assist in implementation of students’ IEPs. For questions regarding Special Education, please call our office at 234-1332 or email help@asd20.org
       
 

Address:1110 Chapel Hills Dr. Colorado Springs, CO 80920
(719) 234-1332
8:00am - 4:30pm Monday -Friday

 Special Education Staff

Executive Director for Special Education
Bob Barrows 234-1324 bob.barrows@asd20.org

Assistant Director for Compliance
Judy Gudvangen 234-1734 judy.gudvangen@asd20.org

Assistant Director for Instruction
Dr. Belinda Lujan-Lindsey 234-1328 belinda.lujan@asd20.org 

District SpEd Supervisor
Josh Nichols234-1375 josh.nichols@asd20.org 

District Coordinator
Eric Purdy234-1366 eric.purdy@asd20.org

District Coordinator          
Karen Eells-Eaton 234-1371 karen.eellseaton@asd20.org

Distict Coordinator
Dr. Stephanie Barron 234-1327 stephanie.barron@asd20.org

District SSN  Specialist
Patti Beemer 234-1370 patti.beemer@asd20.org


District /autism Specialist
Elementary
Rebecca O'Malley 234-1301 rebecca.omalley@asd20.org

District Autism Specialist - Early Childhood

Lisa Shurgot 234-1707 lisa.shurgot@asd20.org

District Autism Specialist – Secondary
Lana Keller 234-1358
lana.keller@asd20.org 

Executive Secretary
Robin Stanforth 234-1326 robin.stanforth@asd20.org

Secretary
Anne McCusker 234-1330 anne.mccusker@asd20.org

Secretary
Debra Kelly
234-1331 debra.kelly@asd20.org

Secretary 
Belinda Barrientos 234-1332 belinda.barrientos@asd20.org 

Additional Special Education Staff