Skip to main content

During today’s Work Session, the Academy District 20 (D20) Board of Education (BOE) selected five finalists for its open board director seat: Catherine Bullock, Michael Riffle, Michael Sibley, Jon Ullmann, and Lauren Yanez. 

Prior to the open, public meeting, each board member reviewed the 24 application packets, viewable on ASD20.ORG.

The board will next conduct in-person interviews with each finalist on Monday, Dec. 18, beginning at 1 p.m., in the Academy District 20 Board Room. The interviews will be livestreamed on ASD20.ORG, though BoardDocs.

When selecting the five finalists, the board reviewed each applicant’s resume, and information provided regarding: Focus on academic outcomes, backgrounds in education, and thoughts and ideas about board policies. Each candidate also provided a signed affidavit verifying their D20 residency. 

The board director search comes after former Board President, Tom LaValley, resigned on Nov. 29, 2023. Following Mr. LaValley’s resignation the newly seated board announced it would accept online applications from those interested in serving.

The applicant selected on Monday, Dec. 18, 2023, will hold the director seat until the next regular school biennial election in November 2025. They will be sworn-in at a public Board meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 19, 2023.